Worship Me, but not in their way

Lately God has been teaching me so many things in the ways that I had never thought about. It is amazing whenever I realize how much more room for growth is there in my understanding of my Father’s heart. To name a few, I learned the purpose of the Law in the lives of people who are redeemed, the unceasing love and grace of God for those who trust Him, the mercy of God that stretches even for thousands of generations of the few who trust Him, the unfailing faithfulness of God in keeping His promises even when we are not ready …

And today, I learned that we can not and must not worship Him while doing things that God hates.

You must not worship the LORD your God in their way, because in worshiping their gods, they do all kinds of detestable things the LORD hates. (Deut. 12:31 / NIV)

This verse made me think about how I have been worshiping Him, and there I fell on my knees. So many times, I had something other than God in my heart even when I thought I was worshiping Him. I was halfhearted, hypocrite, proud and arrogant. I went before Him while being unforgiving, unloving, and unsatisfied. I presented myself with unrepented sins before God and wondered why I could not enjoy in His presence. I pray that the Spirit would give me a clean heart that would reflect Christ, my Lord and Savior. I pray that God would make me desire His presence and enjoy the fullness of life He gave through His Son Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

